Measured cost of a market buy
| Order | Bitget | KuCoin |
|---|---|---|
| BTC $10,000 | 6.01 bps ($6.01)Rank 27 of 38✓ | 6.04 bps ($6.04)Rank 33 of 38 |
| BTC $100,000 | 6.01 bps ($60.06)Rank 25 of 37✓ | 6.04 bps ($60.43)Rank 29 of 37 |
| BTC $1,000,000 | 6.98 bps ($698.17)Rank 19 of 33✓ | 7.60 bps ($760.42)Rank 23 of 33 |
| ETH $10,000 | 6.02 bps ($6.02)Rank 25 of 39✓ | 6.10 bps ($6.10)Rank 33 of 39 |
| ETH $100,000 | 6.14 bps ($61.39)Rank 23 of 38✓ | 8.28 bps ($82.85)Rank 33 of 38 |
| ETH $1,000,000 | 7.50 bps ($749.68)Rank 17 of 33✓ | 9.81 bps ($980.60)Rank 22 of 33 |
Bitget and KuCoin charge the same base fees, so spread and price impact decide the cost.
The measured rows show which book cost less for BTC and ETH at each size.
Fees, funding and market data
| Item | Bitget | KuCoin |
|---|---|---|
| Taker fee, base tier | 0.060% | 0.060% |
| Maker fee, base tier | 0.020% | 0.020% |
| Maximum leverage | 150x on BTC | 125x on BTC |
| Chain and settlement | Off-chain ledgerCEX | Off-chain ledgerCEX |
| Custody of funds | Exchange holds depositsCEX | Exchange holds depositsCEX |
| Taker fee on a $100,000 order | $60 | $60 |
| Operator | BTG Technology Holdings Limited | PEKEN Global Limited (Seychelles) |
| Identity check (KYC) | Required | Not stated |
| EU and EEA | Limited | Limited |
| Canada | Not available | Limited |
| BTC funding rate | Not collected | Not collected |
| ETH funding rate | Not collected | Not collected |
| BTC perp open interest | Not collected | Not collected |
| ETH perp open interest | Not collected | Not collected |
| Reported 24h volume | $12.47bOct 16, 2026 | $2.88bOct 16, 2026 |
- KuCoin
- fees and leverage
Each fee, leverage, settlement and custody value comes from the official page named here. PerpFinder read every page on Sep 23, 2026.
One fee, two books
Bitget and KuCoin charge the same base futures fees for BTC. Each has a maker fee of 0.02% and a taker fee of 0.06%. Bitget states them on its fee page. KuCoin returns them in its contract API.
The KuCoin VIP page does not show the VIP 0 row. A $100,000 market order pays $60 in fees on each exchange. The measured rows show which book adds less spread and price impact.
The KuCoin US plea
PEKEN Global Limited runs KuCoin. On January 27, 2025, the firm pleaded guilty in the US. The plea was for running an unlicensed money transmitting business. KuCoin agreed to pay more than $297 million. KuCoin also agreed to leave the US market for at least two years.
The US Department of Justice reports both terms. In its Terms of Use, Bitget names BTG Technology Holdings Limited as its operator.
Loss cover and past incidents
Bitget keeps a Protection Fund of 5,500 BTC. In September 2020, hot-wallet keys at KuCoin leaked. The KuCoin CEO letter states that about $285 million was affected. The letter also states that no users lost funds.
EEA and Canada
Bitget bars Austria, France and Germany. The Bitget futures agreement excludes residents of Spain. KuCoin bars France and the Netherlands. The FMA is the Austrian regulator. The FMA bars KuCoin EU Exchange GmbH from starting any crypto-asset service. In Canada, Bitget bars the whole country. KuCoin bars Ontario and British Columbia.
Leverage and funding
Bitget lists 150x for BTCUSDT. KuCoin lists 125x for XBTUSDTM. Both settle BTC funding every 8 hours. Our funding sweep reads neither exchange yet.
Bitget and KuCoin book depth
The Bitget BTC book held a $1,000,000 buy better. The order paid 0.98 bps above the fee on Bitget and 1.60 bps on KuCoin. The ETH result at $1,000,000 was 1.50 bps on Bitget and 3.81 bps on KuCoin. The book cost rose by 0.98 bps on Bitget and by 1.56 bps on KuCoin when the BTC order grew from $10,000 to $1,000,000.
Who can open an account
Both venues bar persons in the United States. Only Bitget also bars Canada.
| Jurisdiction | Bitget | KuCoin |
|---|---|---|
| United States | Not available | Not available |
| United Kingdom | Not named | Not named |
| EU and EEA | Limited | Limited |
| Canada | Not available | Limited |
| Identity documents | Required | Not stated |
The Bitget Terms of Use state that you must comply with the Bitget identity-verification procedures before you open an account. The KuCoin Terms of Use state that KuCoin may end an unverified, inactive account. No KuCoin page states that verification is a specific condition of futures trading.
A country that the terms do not name is not a permission. Check your local law before you open an account.
Bitget vs KuCoin FAQ
Which has lower fees, Bitget or KuCoin?
Neither, at the base tier: both charge 0.02% maker and 0.06% taker on BTC futures.
The measured table shows which book cost less.
Why did KuCoin leave the US?
In January 2025, its operator PEKEN Global Limited pleaded guilty to running an unlicensed money transmitting business.
KuCoin agreed to leave the US market for at least two years.
Does Bitget have a protection fund?
Yes.
Bitget states a Protection Fund of 5,500 BTC.
Which offers more leverage, Bitget or KuCoin?
Bitget lists 150x for BTCUSDT, and KuCoin lists 125x for its BTC/USDT perpetual.