Measured cost of a market buy
| Order | dYdX | Aster |
|---|---|---|
| BTC $10,000 | 6.58 bps ($6.58)Rank 35 of 38 | 4.11 bps ($4.11)Rank 11 of 38✓ |
| BTC $100,000 | 8.92 bps ($89.19)Rank 36 of 37 | 4.37 bps ($43.68)Rank 9 of 37✓ |
| BTC $1,000,000 | 13.07 bps ($1,307.22)Rank 30 of 33 | 4.60 bps ($460.08)Rank 4 of 33✓ |
| ETH $10,000 | No rankDepth reading not confirmed | 4.08 bps ($4.08)Rank 10 of 39 |
| ETH $100,000 | No rankDepth reading not confirmed | 4.31 bps ($43.06)Rank 8 of 38 |
| ETH $1,000,000 | No rankDepth reading not confirmed | 4.81 bps ($480.66)Rank 5 of 33 |
Aster charges 0.04% taker against 0.05% on dYdX, so its fee is lower on every market order at the base tier.
The measured rows show whether the dYdX book narrows the gap at each size. dYdX runs on a proof-of-stake validator set with hourly funding, and only Aster runs Aster Chain validators in Phase 1.
Fees, funding and market data
| Item | dYdX | Aster |
|---|---|---|
| Taker fee, base tier | 0.050% | 0.040%✓ |
| Maker fee, base tier | 0.010% | 0%✓ |
| Maximum leverage | 50x on BTC | 200x on BTC up to a $400 position; 150x up to $300,000 |
| Chain and settlement | dYdX Chain: its own proof-of-stake layer 1 on Cosmos SDK and CometBFT; validators run the order book | Own layer 1 (Aster Chain); bridges from BNB Chain, Ethereum, Arbitrum, Solana, SUI |
| Custody of funds | Self-custody: users hold the keys of their dYdX Chain address; the software provider does not hold wallets or keys; funds reach the chain through bridges (for example Noble for USDC) | Aster validators sign deposits and withdrawals; no forced withdrawal described |
| Taker fee on a $100,000 order | $50 | $40✓ |
| Validators | Validator set runs the order book✓ | Only Aster in Phase 1 |
| Keys that move funds | User key; bridges such as Noble for USDC✓ | Aster validators: 2 of 3 sign a withdrawal |
| Audits named in docs | Informal Systems (6 reports) | Salus Security, PeckShield, Halborn |
| Identity check (KYC) | Not stated | Not stated |
| BTC funding rate | 0.0000% per 1hOctober 16, 2026, 08:07 UTC · interval assumed | 0.0086% per 8hOctober 16, 2026, 08:07 UTC |
| ETH funding rate | 0.0051% per 1hOctober 16, 2026, 08:07 UTC · interval assumed | 0.0074% per 8hOctober 16, 2026, 08:07 UTC |
| BTC perp open interest | $16.2mOctober 16, 2026, 08:07 UTC | Not collected |
| ETH perp open interest | $15.2mOctober 16, 2026, 08:07 UTC | Not collected |
| Reported 24h volume | $38.3mOct 16, 2026, DefiLlama dYdX V4 row | $2.65bOct 16, 2026 |
- dYdX
- fees, leverage, settlement, custody
- Aster
- fees, leverage, settlement and custody
Each fee, leverage, settlement and custody value comes from the official page named here. PerpFinder read every page on Sep 23, 2026.
Fees at the base tier
Aster charges takers 1 basis point less than dYdX at the base tier, and makers pay nothing on Aster. The dYdX fee parameters set 0.01% maker and 0.05% taker for tier 1. The Aster fee page lists 0% maker and 0.04% taker for general crypto pairs.
The taker gap is $1 on a $10,000 order and $10 on a $100,000 order. DYDX staking discounts are not in the measured rows.
Who runs each chain
Both venues run their own layer 1. On the dYdX Chain, validators run the order book, per the dYdX architecture page. Users hold the keys of their dYdX Chain address. On Aster Chain, only Aster runs validators in Phase 1.
Aster deposits need signatures from 3 of 4 validator nodes, and withdrawals need 2 of 3, per the Aster Chain overview. The Aster docs describe no forced withdrawal.
Funding
dYdX charges funding every hour on every market. Aster uses an 8-hour period by default and can set another period for each pair. To compare one hour, take one eighth of the Aster rate. Our sweep reads funding on both venues.
Leverage
dYdX lists 50x for BTC-USD, from an initial margin fraction of 0.02. Aster allows 200x on BTCUSDT only while the position stays at or below $400, per its bracket data. Up to $300,000, the cap is 150x.
Audits
The dYdX audits folder holds six reports from Informal Systems on the dYdX Chain, per the dYdX security page. The Aster audit page lists reports on a deposit vault, an earn contract and token products. No listed Aster report names the Aster Chain clearinghouse.
Access
The dYdX software terms name the United States, Canada and the United Kingdom as restricted. The Aster terms name the same three countries as prohibited jurisdictions.
dYdX and Aster book depth
The Aster BTC book held a $1,000,000 buy better. The order paid 0.60 bps above the fee on Aster and 8.07 bps on dYdX. The book cost rose by 6.49 bps on dYdX and by 0.49 bps on Aster when the BTC order grew from $10,000 to $1,000,000.
dYdX vs Aster FAQ
Is Aster cheaper than dYdX?
Yes, at the base tier: Aster charges 0.04% taker and 0% maker, and dYdX charges 0.05% and 0.01%.
The measured table adds spread and price impact.
How do dYdX and Aster funding periods differ?
dYdX charges funding every hour.
Aster uses 8-hour periods by default, so one Aster period covers 8 dYdX periods.
Who controls withdrawals on Aster?
Aster validators sign each withdrawal, and only Aster runs validators in Phase 1.
The Aster docs describe no forced withdrawal.
Can US residents use dYdX or Aster?
No.
The dYdX software terms and the Aster terms both name the United States as restricted.