Skip to content
PerpFinder

OKX vs MEXC: fees, cost and liquidity

MEXC cost less than OKX in all 6 BTC and ETH order sizes where both venues had a rank.

OKX, $10K BTC
5.01 bps
MEXC, $10K BTC
2.01 bps
OKX, $1M BTC
5.27 bps
MEXC, $1M BTC
2.06 bps

Stored sweep, October 16, 2026 at 06:55 UTC. All-in cost = base taker fee + half spread + price impact. 1 bps = 0.01%.

Written by PerpFinder editorial, small independent publisher — Last reviewed 2026-09-26

Measured cost of a market buy

OrderOKXMEXC
BTC $10,0005.01 bps ($5.01)Rank 17 of 382.01 bps ($2.01)Rank 3 of 38✓
BTC $100,0005.01 bps ($50.06)Rank 14 of 372.01 bps ($20.06)Rank 3 of 37✓
BTC $1,000,0005.27 bps ($527.40)Rank 10 of 332.06 bps ($205.81)Rank 2 of 33✓
ETH $10,0005.02 bps ($5.02)Rank 16 of 392.02 bps ($2.02)Rank 3 of 39✓
ETH $100,0005.92 bps ($59.23)Rank 17 of 382.02 bps ($20.20)Rank 3 of 38✓
ETH $1,000,0006.95 bps ($695.25)Rank 16 of 332.06 bps ($206.40)Rank 2 of 33✓
Measured October 16, 2026, 06:55 UTC. Cost = base taker fee + half spread + price impact.Method

MEXC charges 3 basis points less than OKX per taker order on BTC at the base tier.

The measured rows show how spread and price impact change that gap at each size.

Fees, funding and market data

ItemOKXMEXC
Taker fee, base tier0.050%0.020%✓
Maker fee, base tier0.020%0%✓
Maximum leverage100x on BTC500x on BTC
Chain and settlementOff-chain ledgerCEXOff-chain ledgerCEX
Custody of fundsExchange holds depositsCEXExchange holds depositsCEX
Taker fee on a $100,000 order$50$20✓
Fee schedule scopeGlobal ladder; regional companies can differSet for each pair
Local licensed companyEEA (Malta), Australia, Dubai✓None named
Identity check (KYC)RequiredNot stated
EU and EEAAvailableNot named
United KingdomLimitedNot available
BTC funding rate0.0100% per 8hOctober 16, 2026, 07:52 UTCNot collected
ETH funding rate0.0007% per 8hOctober 16, 2026, 07:52 UTCNot collected
BTC perp open interestNot collectedNot collected
ETH perp open interestNot collectedNot collected
Reported 24h volume$33.90bOct 16, 2026$14.81bOct 16, 2026
Funding and open interest: 15-minute sweep. Volume: daily snapshot.Funding rates
OKX
fees (read Sep 14, 2026), leverage (read Sep 23, 2026)
MEXC
fees (read Sep 23, 2026), leverage (read Sep 23, 2026)

Each fee, leverage, settlement and custody value comes from the official page named here. The date is the day PerpFinder read the page.

Fees for a regular account

MEXC charges 0.02% taker on BTCUSDT, and OKX charges 0.05% on its regular futures tier. The gap is 3 basis points: $3 on a $10,000 market order and $30 on a $100,000 order.

Makers pay 0% on MEXC and 0.02% on OKX. OKX set one global futures ladder on August 14, 2026, per its notice. Regional OKX companies can use another schedule.

Regional products at OKX

OKX runs local companies with their own rules. In supported EEA countries, a MiFID II investment firm in Malta sells X-Perps, which are expiry futures that use a funding rate. In Australia, retail clients can trade USDT-margined perpetual swaps with leverage up to 2:1.

In Dubai, OKX Middle East Fintech FZE holds a VARA licence that includes derivatives trading. MEXC names no legal entity in its User Agreement.

Leverage caps

OKX lists 100x at the first BTC-USDT position tier, per its position tiers API. The cap falls as the position grows. MEXC lists 500x for BTC_USDT.

Reserve reports

OKX publishes a Proof of Reserves that uses zk-STARK proofs. MEXC links a reserve report that Hacken audited. Both reports show assets on one snapshot date.

Funding

Both exchanges settle BTC funding every 8 hours. Our funding sweep reads OKX but not MEXC, so only the OKX funding rows have a reading.

OKX and MEXC book depth

The MEXC BTC book held a $1,000,000 buy better. The order paid 0.06 bps above the fee on MEXC and 0.27 bps on OKX. The ETH result at $1,000,000 was 0.06 bps on MEXC and 1.95 bps on OKX. The book cost rose by 0.27 bps on OKX and by 0.05 bps on MEXC when the BTC order grew from $10,000 to $1,000,000.

Who can open an account

Both venues bar persons in Canada. Only MEXC also bars the United States and the United Kingdom.

JurisdictionOKXMEXC
United StatesLimitedNot available
United KingdomLimitedNot available
EU and EEAAvailableNot named
CanadaNot availableNot available
Identity documentsRequiredNot stated

The OKX terms require a government-issued photo ID and evidence of residency for identity verification. The MEXC User Agreement states that MEXC may terminate an account when its identity-verification procedure is not completed. No MEXC page states that verification is a specific condition of futures trading.

A country that the terms do not name is not a permission. Check your local law before you open an account.

OKX vs MEXC FAQ

Is MEXC cheaper than OKX?

Yes, at the base tier for BTC: MEXC charges 0.02% taker and OKX charges 0.05% to regular users.

The measured table shows the full cost with spread and price impact.

Can EEA residents trade perps on OKX?

Yes, in supported countries: OKX sells X-Perps through a MiFID II investment firm in Malta.

X-Perps are expiry futures that use a funding rate.

Which has higher leverage, OKX or MEXC?

MEXC lists 500x for BTC.

OKX lists 100x at the first BTC-USDT position tier, and the cap falls for larger positions.

Does PerpFinder collect funding for both?

No.

Our funding sweep reads OKX, and it does not read MEXC yet.